Founded some twenty years ago to encourage the love of serious music especially amongst the young, we provide live music in different genres performed by highly gifted professional artistes, many of whom have international recognition.   Probably no other local venue provides such recitals on a regular basis throughout the year and at a very reasonable expense.

Why travel to London when this quality of musical satisfaction can be found so close to home?

Next Concert:Friday 17th February 2017, 7:30pm

Andrew Millington
Andrew Millington ­­‑ organ
Friday 17 February 2017 • 7:30pm • £10
E Elgar Imperial March arr. G Martin
O Gibbons Fancy for a Double Orgaine
JS Bach Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C
J Jongen Chant de Mai
WA Mozart Fantasia in F minor K608
Rheinberger Sonata no 8 in E minor
   - Fuge
   - Intermezzo
   - Scherzoso
   - Passacaglia
D Bourgeois Serenade
L Vierne Carillon de Westminster
£10 in advance, or cash at the door.

Children 16 and under admitted free with accompanying adult. Students £3 (with ID card).

Amounts indicated are a suggested donation. If you are a tax payer a Gift Aid declaration would be appreciated.

Tickets are available from:
Guildford Tourist Information Centre

Guildford House
155 High Street
Tel: 01483 444 333
Andrew Millington

Andrew Millington’s career in Cathedral music has spanned some forty years, most recently as Director of Music at Exeter Cathedral (1999-2015). He studied the organ at Worcester Cathedral before gaining an Organ Scholarship to Downing College, Cambridge. In 1975 he became Assistant Organist at Gloucester Cathedral where he was closely involved with The Three Choirs Festival. He held the conductorship of several notable choirs in the Midlands, two of which won major awards in the BBC competition “Let the Peoples Sing”.

In 1983 he succeeded Philip Moore as Organist and Master of the Choristers at Guildford Cathedral. His work with the Guildford choir over a period of 16 years included foreign tours to European countries and North America, numerous recordings and an appearance at the BBC Promenade Concerts. In addition to his Cathedral duties, he was closely involved with the Guildford International Music Festival, conductor of Bracknell Choral Society, Diocesan Organs Advisor and Chairman of the RSCM Guildford Area.

He has worked with several leading orchestras and he is well known as a recitalist. He has made several recordings as an organ soloist, including a highly-acclaimed DVD on the organ of Exeter Cathedral. He has played in most of the major venues in the UK, and in 1995 was organist for the Festival of Remembrance in the Royal Albert Hall. He is an examiner for The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music and a past President of the Cathedral Organists’ Association.

Since his arrival at Exeter, his work with the Cathedral Choir has included several broadcasts and recordings and highly successful tours of Russia, France, Norway and USA. He has been awarded honorary diplomas by the Guild of Church Musicians and the Royal School of Church Music. In 2003, he was appointed Director of Music of Exeter Philharmonic Choir and has conducted them in many of the major choral/orchestral works. He is the Honorary President of both the St Cecilia Singers of Gloucester and the Exmouth Choral Society. He is an active composer of church music and has had many works published.

In 2015 he stepped down from his post at Exeter in order to pursue freelance musical activities and much neglected hobbies.