The Kensington Wind Ensemble
The Kensington Wind Quintet
Mark Taylor - Flute
Francesca Cox - Oboe
Annemiek de Bruin - Clarinet
Charlotte Cox - Bassoon
Christopher McKay - French Horn

Wednesday 16 July 2014 • 1:00pm • £8

Sponsored by A J Bennewith & Co
Six Bagatelles
Mother Goose Ravel
Five Ancient Dances Farkas
Three Preludes Gershwin

£8 in advance, or cash at the door.

Children 16 and under admitted free with accompanying adult. Students £3 (with ID card).

Amounts indicated are a suggested donation. If you are a tax payer a Gift Aid declaration would be appreciated.

Tickets are available from:
Guildford Tourist Information Centre
Guildford House
155 High Street

Tel: 01483 444 333

The Guildford Summer Festival takes place between 20 June and 15 August 2014 and will include a diverse range of events including Walkfest, the Town Centre Cycle Race, Guildford Festival Craft Fair, The Electric Theatre Summer Film Festival and much more. This year there will also be a number of events commemorating the start of World War I.

The title " Kensington Wind Ensemble" has a certain ring about it that implies authority in their musical presentation, and the lunchtime concert on Wednesday 16th July at Guildford United Reformed Church certainly confirmed this impression abundantly.

The Quintet consisting of Flute, Clarinet,French Horn, Oboe and Bassoon are all very young players,the two last, being sisters, who live locally and have joined the ensemble for the very first time. Other members come from further afield--- London, Scotland and Holland and despite their tender years each is a consummate  musician in complete command of their instrument.

An interesting and attractive programme commenced with " Five Ancient Hungarian Dances for Wind Quintet" by Ferenc Farcas  followed by four of " Six Bagatelles " by Gyorgy Ligeti the former composer`s one time pupil. All of these short pieces were played with the utmost vitality which immediately commanded attention and the interweaving , phrasing and rhythmic control of the intricate harmony was a joy to hear.

Likewise, Joachim Linckelmann`s wind quintet  arrangement of Ravel`s " Mother Goose Suite " was brought to life with great sensitivity and style with the characteristics of each instrument fitting the titles admirably.

Lastly,an arrangement of Gershwin`s "Three Preludes " originally written for piano, and a striking wind quintet movement encore by Piazzolla, were rendered with sufficient panache and feeling, to deserve the tumultuous applause which brought to an end this fine concert. Indeed, if this typifies their abilities at such a young age, who knows where this ensemble will go in years to come?


The Kensington Wind Quintet

These talented young musicians formed the Kensington Wind Quintet whilst training at the Royal college of Music.