Logo image links to home page

Wed 30 Jan 2013

7:30 pm • Retiring collection

Anita Fan


Brahms, Ravel & Chopin

Followed by AGM at 8:30 pm

Anita Fan
Previous button
Next button



Drei Intermezzi Op.117




Scherzo No.2 in B flat minor Op. 31


Anita Fan, a young post graduate student at University of Surrey, gave a short piano recital as a prelude to this year's AGM. New to solo performance, she took a little time to get into her stride and the three Brahms Intermezzi Opus.117 were rather too carefully played and lacking in spontaneity. However, the Sonatine of Maurice Ravel written about 1904 came to life and showed that impressionism reflected her pianistic abilities very well. She concluded her programme with the B flat minor Scherzo Opus 31 by Chopin, a rousing well-known favourite, generally well played, but as always, in Chopin's larger works, containing a formidably difficult recapitulation, which did not quite come off as intended.


Anita Fan

Anita Fan obtained the Dip ABRSM at age 11. She studied performance at the Royal College of Music, and then graduated with a BMus from the University of Surrey. She is currently reading for a MMus in piano performance under the direction of Clive Williamson and Maureen Galea.

Anita has been a prize winner at several competitions in China, Seychelles and the UK including the ‘Quattro Mani!’ a piano duet competition. She also placed second in Croser-Hughes Chamber Music Competition as well as being one of the finalists in the Pennington competition. In May 2012, she performed with the renowned pianist and composer Rolf Hind in his ‘Sunnata’ for six pianos held at the University of Surrey. She has also performed in numerous concerts as a soloist, in chamber groups and as an accompanist.